Law Offices of Erik Steven Johnson

247 N. Third Street, San Jose, CA 95112

Call Today for a Free Consultation | Se Habla Espanol

408-246-3004

Types of DUI Programs That Offenders are Required to Complete in California

Posted on in DUI

California DUI defense lawyerDriving under the influence is dangerous, and it can be deadly if the right conditions are present; that is why California takes DUI charges so seriously. If you are convicted of a DUI charge in California, you will be required to attend a DUI program as a part of your sentencing. These programs are designed to reduce the number of repeat DUI offenders and give people the opportunity to get help for drug or alcohol problems.

If you are ordered to attend a DUI program, it must meet state requirements and be licensed by the state of California. Currently, there are around 500 licensed state programs that you can choose from, with costs ranging from a couple hundred to a couple thousand dollars, depending on which type of program you are required to complete. It is important to note that licensed programs are only conducted in person - no online programs will qualify.

Wet Reckless Programs

If you are convicted of a “wet reckless” you were convicted of reckless driving and law officials were able to detect an amount of alcohol in your system. If this was your first wet reckless offense, you will be ordered to attend a 12-hour DUI program, which takes place across six weeks.

First-Offender Programs

First offender programs are designed to educate people about the dangers of drinking and driving and encourage them to be more responsible. If you are convicted of a first-offense DUI, you will have to complete a 30-hour drug and alcohol education program, which takes place over three months. If your BAC was .20 or higher and it was your first DUI conviction, you will be required to complete a 60-hour program that takes place over nine months.

18-Month and 30-Month Programs

If you are a second or subsequent offender, you will be required to attend a longer and more thorough DUI program, which will typically consist of:

  • 52 hours of group counseling;
  • 12 hours of drug and alcohol education;
  • 6 hours of community re-entry monitoring; and
  • Interview every other week for the first 12 months.

Some counties can elect to require a 30-month program for those who have three or more DUI offenses. The 30-month program consists of:

  • 78 hours of group counseling;
  • 12 hours of drug and alcohol education;
  • 120-300 hours of community service; and
  • Regularly scheduled interviews.

Get in Touch With a Santa Clara County DUI Defense Lawyer

Being charged with a DUI can affect your life in many ways - you could lose your driving privileges for a period of time, be required to serve jail time, and you could face expensive fines. If you are convicted of your charges, the law will likely require you to attend one of these DUI programs. An experienced and tenacious San Francisco DUI defense lawyer can develop a defense strategy to keep your record clear. Contact the Law Offices of Erik Steven Johnson and discuss your case to determine your best options. Call 408-246-3004 to set up a consultation today.

Source:

https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/individuals/Pages/DUI_Programs.aspx 

Back to Top