Law Offices of Erik Steven Johnson

247 N. Third Street, San Jose, CA 95112

Call Today for a Free Consultation | Se Habla Espanol

408-246-3004

Subscribe to this list via RSS Blog posts tagged in DUI penalties

Posted on in DUI

San Francisco DUi lawyer

In almost every state across the nation, .08 is the legal limit for an individual’s blood alcohol concentration when driving. Assembly Bill 1713, proposed by two California assembly members -- Democrat Autumn Burke and Republican Heath Flora -- would lower the legal BAC to .05. They say the reasoning behind the proposal is that drivers begin to show impairment well before reaching .08. If the bill passes, California will follow in the footsteps of Utah, where the .05 BAC standard was adopted in December 2018. If passed, the new law will result in many more DUI arrests each year.

How Many Drinks to 0.05 BAC?

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, women weighing 160 pounds may only need one drink before reaching .05, and a man weighing 180 pounds could get by with two drinks and still legally drive. At the current level of .08, most women can legally drive after two drinks and some men after as many as four.

...

Santa Clara DUI defense lawyerWhen people drive when they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol, their senses are inhibited and they can cause a lot of damage to others. Driving under the influence is always dangerous, which is why it carries such harsh penalties in the state of California. When great bodily injury or death results from someone who is driving under the influence, the charges are increased and become more severe.

Man is Sentenced to Prison for DUI Deaths

A Livermore, CA man was sentenced to 30 years to life last week for the deaths of a mother and her daughter in November 2015. The 39-year-old man was convicted on two counts of second-degree murder after he lost control of his car while he was driving under the influence of alcohol. The man lost control of his car and crashed into an apartment building in Livermore, killing a 46-year-old woman and her 14-month-old baby.

Man Also Charged With DUI for Injury of Children

The death of the mother and her daughter were not the only victims in this DUI case. A 6-year-old and a 7-year-old boy were also struck by flying debris from the crash and were taken to the hospital for treatment. In addition to the second-degree murder charges, the man was also charged with a felony DUI charge for injuring the 7-year-old boy.

...

DUI conviction, DUI charges, first-offense DUI, Santa Clara County DUI defense attorney, DUI penaltiesCalifornia has relatively strict punishments for those caught driving under the influence (DUI). In the state of California, anyone who is suspected of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol will automatically have his or her license suspended, a process called admin per se suspension, which is conducted by the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). In addition to automatic license suspension, California poses serious penalties on those who are convicted of DUI. The penalties get more strict with the increasing number of convictions. If you have been charged with a DUI, it is important for you to understand the penalties that a DUI charge carries.

Basic Penalties

In the state of California, all DUI convictions carry certain base penalties. These base penalties include:

...
Back to Top