Law Offices of Erik Steven Johnson

247 N. Third Street, San Jose, CA 95112

Call Today for a Free Consultation | Se Habla Espanol

408-246-3004

Is an Alcohol Education Program Mandatory After a California DUI?

Posted on in DUI

San Jose DUI Defense AttorneysDriving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is illegal in all 50 states. In California, if a driver has a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more, he or she is considered impaired or under the influence. Penalties for DUI can carry serious consequences. If an individual is convicted of a DUI in California, the court may order completion of an Alcohol and Drug Education and Counseling program provided by a state-licensed service provider. The duration of the program depends on whether this is a motorist’s first or subsequent DUI offense within a 10-year period.

California DUI Classes

The California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs (ADP) licenses more than 400 DUI education program services across the state. The programs are designed to provide participants with the necessary tools to reflect on attitudes and behavior, promote positive lifestyle changes, and reduce or eliminate the use of alcohol and/or drugs altogether.

For eligibility in one of these programs, a person must be referred by either the court or the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The state of California offers different levels of DUI education programs to those drivers who are ordered to attend them. In some situations, classes can be as short as 12 hours for first-time offenders with low BACs or as high as 30 months for repeat offenders.

  • Wet Reckless Program: A reckless driving conviction with a BAC less than .08 could require an offender to complete this program. This 12-hour class costs between $300 and $400.
  • First-Time Offenders: If it is a driver’s first DUI, he or she must attend a state-licensed three-month, 30-hour alcohol and drug education and counseling program. The cost is approximately $600. 
  • Six-Month DUI Class: This class may be mandatory for first-time offenders if breath test or blood test results are in the range of .15 and .19 percent. Approximate cost is between $800 and $900.
  • Nine-Month DUI Class: This class is required for first-time offenders if they refused to take a breathalyzer or chemical test or their results were over .20. It is 60 hours and costs approximately $1,200.
  • Second-Time Offenders: A second offense in a 10-year period requires an 18-month DUI class. Cost is approximately $1,800 to $1,900. This program consists of group counseling, alcohol and drug education, community reentry monitoring, and biweekly individual interviews throughout the first year.

Some counties in California provide 30-month DUI programs for third and subsequent DUI offenders. These programs can include group counseling, alcohol and drug education, community service, and individual interviews.

Contact a San Jose, CA Drunk Driving Defense Lawyer

Getting behind the wheel of a vehicle after consuming alcohol or drugs is not only dangerous, it is illegal. In California, a DUI arrest can impact many areas of your life. A conviction can result in serious penalties, such as costly fines, prison time, and mandatory DUI classes or treatment program. If you are facing drunk driving charges, contact the Law Offices of Erik Steven Johnson. Our tenacious Milipitas DUI defense attorneys understand that people can make mistakes and we will build an aggressive defense on your behalf. To schedule a free consultation, call our office today at 408-246-3004. 


Sources:

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&sectionNum=23152

https://dui-education.com

Back to Top