Law Offices of Erik Steven Johnson - San Jose Criminal Defense Attorney
Call for a Free Initial Consultation
408-246-3004
Se Habla Español

San Jose DUI Lawyer

In California, a drunk driving charge can be life-altering and put great strain on your job and career. Don’t face such a charge alone. You need an experienced San Jose DUI defense lawyer to fight for your rights. A DUI conviction can lead to jail time, excessive fines, loss of driving privileges and vehicle impoundment.

To learn more about your rights after a DUI arrest, contact our law firm online or by telephone at 408-246-3004 to arrange a consultation with an experienced  San Jose DUI lawyer.

Building Your Defense From The Ground Up

DUI defense is complex and often requires scientific analysis by an expert. Erik Steven Johnson’s criminal defense background has given him the insight to fight DUI charges, and he understands the details that affect DUI prosecution. He will immediately request a DMV hearing to protect your driving privileges and fight the prosecutor in court.

Mr. Johnson provides a thorough and aggressive defense to clients charged with a DUI and has the experience to investigate:

  • The legality of the stop
  • Whether the Breathalyzer was properly calibrated and properly maintained
  • Whether the blood was properly drawn and tested accurately
  • Whether there is a rising blood-alcohol defense and all other evidence

California Drunk Driving Charges

California law makes it illegal to drive a motor vehicle while under the influence. Specifically:

  • It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or drug, or the combination of the two.
  • It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence with a blood-alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher.
  • It is illegal to have alcohol in your blood while driving if you are under 21 years of age.

Consequences For Driving Under The Influence

  • First offense: You may be ordered to serve 48 hours to six months in county jail. The court will impose a fine of not less than $395 and up to $1,000 (plus penalties and assessments), order you to attend a three- to nine-month alcohol treatment program, and DMV will suspend your license for six or 10 months.
  • Second offense: You may be ordered to serve 96 hours or up to one year of county jail, face an 18- or 30-month alcohol program, and DMV may impose a license suspension for two years.
  • Third offense: The court may order 120 days or up to one year in county jail, large fines and fees, and DMV will suspend your license for two years.
  • Fourth offense: Now you can be charged with a felony and face up to three years in the state penitentiary.

Act Quickly To Protect Your Driver’s License

You only have 10 days from your arrest to request a hearing with the Driver Safety Office of the DMV. Driving in California is considered a privilege, not a right; however, you have the right to a hearing to maintain your privileges. Mr. Johnson believes in attending such hearings in person because he knows that keeping your license can be the most important aspect of the DUI charge.

Contact Our California DUI Defense Firm For Advice

We defend clients from Santa Clara County and throughout surrounding communities against a broad range of criminal charges, including drunk driving/DUI/DWI charges. Contact us today online or by telephone at 408-246-3004 to arrange a consultation with a knowledgeable San Jose DUI lawyer.

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers California DUI Lawyers Association Santa Clara County Trial Lawyers Association
Web Analytics